This Christmas

Posted: December 10, 2004 in About Me, Fiction and Non-Fiction
Tags: , ,

It’s all the same… the three, the lights, the decorations… Even the yuletide carols sung by the children are the same. The tune of a sad Christmas song filled my room… It’s ironic that I get to hear that song now. On this time of the year… it’s Christmas… Why be sad?

Then I remembered… I can’t be in glee with the whole world. How am I supposed to be happy when sadness fills my heart?

I stood up and opened the bottom drawer of my closet. There, I found the box containing my mementos and letters… lots of letter… I skimmed through them and a clover leaf fell. I picked it up and stared at it… it had withered.

Tears ran down my cheeks. They fell on the pile of letters… letters from him… with them is a beautifully crafted image of a phoenix, the legendary bird of fire… I kissed the phoenix as I reminisced on the day he gave that to me… on the 25th day of December.

It was almost a year ago but the scene is still vivid in my memory. This Christmas is different. I received nothing from him… he didn’t promise that he’d stay… like he used to do every Christmas…

This Christmas, he left…

Leave a Reply

