Of Anime and Realizations

Posted: January 18, 2015 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , ,

I’ve indulged myself with anime this weekend.  It was to entertain myself and to take my mind off something that’s currently making me restless… withdrawn… and weak.

This weekend, I finished Hunter X Hunter Chimera Ant Arc and the 13th Hunter Chairman Arc.  They were good, capable of making one think and feel things not expected of animes.

The feels on Meruem and Komugi’s tragic story was something I did not expect… An Ant and A Human.  It was a beautiful exploration of feeling for something or someone that you won’t normally care about…  To think that it even started with a simple game of Gungi (a fictional game that is somewhat similar to Chess)… Theirs seem to say that no matter how much you strategize and thirst for glory, you would sometimes end up with something you don’t really want… but would make you feel complete.

As for Ging’s parting words to his son, Gon…  It makes you appreciate things not going as you planned.  It gave me an impression that detours on our chosen paths should be welcomed… Its because of them that you may encounter things or people that would be important in your life.

It’s because of these underlying realizations that up until now, I still watch animes…  From Full Metal Alchemist’s concept – to have something new, one has to pay something of equivalent value… to Death Note’s playing god – that good or evil can be relative, subjective even, because it will always be supported by reasons that we may agree with or not, depending on our own level of morality.

I’m not going further into this… I’m no critic.  I just appreciated the things I managed to learn this weekend… 🙂

Comments
  1. Jenn Ji Hyun says:

    Hi Baby Giggles 🙂

    Anime reminds me of good old days when we were both Yuyu Hakusho fanatics – Overjoyed with the photocopied – black and white – pictures of our Yuyu characters.

    It’s amazing how things have changed. Nowadays, you just google the word and a million information will flood you. It cuts the excitement by half a dozen times less though.

    Missing you 🙂

Leave a Reply

